Rose-Breasted Grosbeak

I have been inspired by several photographers this year. I have begun my journey of learning and photographing my backyard friends. I was amazed at the variety of birds that have pulled up for dinner at the feeders. I hope you will enjoy them as I add them to my other photography. The first one is named the….

Rose-breasted Grosbeak

Bursting with black, white, and rose-red, male Rose-breasted Grosbeaks are like an exclamation mark at your bird feeder or in your binoculars. Females and immatures are streaked brown and white with a bold face pattern and enormous bill. Look for these birds in forest edges and woodlands. Listen, too, for their distinctive voices. They sound like American Robins, but listen for an extra sweetness, as if the bird had operatic training; they also make a sharp chink like the squeak of a sneaker.

These chunky birds use their stout bills to eat seeds, fruit, and insects. They are also frequent visitors to backyard bird feeders, where they eat sunflower seeds with abandon. The sweet, rambling song of a male Rose-breasted Grosbeak is a familiar voice of eastern forests; their sharp “chink” calls are also very distinctive.

Adult Male

  • Large songbird with very thick, pale bill
  • Black above and white below with white patches on wing
  • Bright, rosy pink patch on breast
Adult Female
  • Large, stocky songbird with heavy, pale bill
  • Brown above with contrasting stripes on head
  • Pale underparts with thin, dark streaks on breast
  • White wing-bars usually visible

http://www.allaboutbirds.org/guide/Rose-breasted_Grosbeak/id

Grosbeak_Male & Female_5384_edited-5  Grosbeak_5405_Head_edited-4  Grosbeak_5405_edited-3  Grosbeak_5403_edited-3  Grosbeak_5398_edited-3  Grosbeak_5378_edited-5  Grosbeak_Female_5391_edited-2  Grosbeak_Female_5385_edited-1  

  Grosbeak_Female_5388_edited-3

 

22 thoughts on “Rose-Breasted Grosbeak

      1. We cannot use a bird feeder. It’s like call of the wild up on the mountain hanging one of those close to the ground. We are now putting the seeds on the boulders that line our driveway. The critters get most of the food before the birds, but we try!! 🙂

        Like

      2. That is too bad, but I can understand what you mean. I wonder if you could hang them in a tree? Would rather live with out the birds if I could live in the mountains though. Glad you enjoyed the photos!

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Indah! I appreciate your comment. No, I cannot afford all those special lens. I have only one tele-lens a Canon 55-250mm lens. I have a large picture window on the back of my kitchen and I have my feeders about 20 feet from there. So I am able to take my photos through the window from a short distance. It works out great for me! 🙂

      Like

  1. How smart to do this! Get them to come to you. I’ve never been able to capture birds! I love this red chested bird I’ve never seen one before! They are so cute! I need to get a longer lens one day! 😄😄

    Liked by 1 person

    1. As much as you enjoy photography Michele you should get a zoom😃 I know you would enjoy it. When I got home from church tonight there was a baby Brown Thrush in my driveway. Sometimes I just get luck 😃 and yes I capture the precious thing! Yay!

      Like

  2. Wow. ANDY do you have a special camera to capture these. And how do they stay so still without being frightened by the flash. The pictures are amazing though. I don’t know much about birds but this feels like a wildlife lesson. My son was quite interested too. Be sure to copyright. Lovely.. 🙂

    Like

    1. HI Beverly! Thanks for nice comment. No, I have no special camera. I have a Canon T3 with a 250 zoom lens. I just sit and wait patiently for them to land and do their things at the bird feeder. I am happy your son enjoyed them too!

      Like

  3. Andy, you have a gift! I’m so glad you chose to do this new adventure. It looks like you’re having great fun. Beverly asked my question. I have a Canon, but don’t have a zoom lens. I’ve been contemplating it though….your pictures tempt me! Also, this year I planted sunflowers to attract the birds and because I think they’re so pretty. You’ve inspired me to get pictures…and I like your info sheets as well. Nice.

    Like

Leave a Reply

